Balmoral Castle the backdrop to the race

Three records broken at RunBalmoral - 25 April 2016

Occasional flurries of snow drifted down from the Cairngorms but the cold weather did little to curb the enthusiasm of thousands of competitors taking part in the first day of RunBalmoral 2016.

There were some top quality performances with two course records being broken in an exciting series of races. The trend continued on day two when the sun came out and a further record fell.


Scotland international Jenn Wetton (Central AC), left , broke the longest-standing record in the history of the Balmoral meeting when lifting the women's title in the Stena Drilling Tartan 10km

Wetton, who was surprised by the severity of 'the hill' recorded 36:20 to shave three secs off the previous best mark set in 2006 by Aberdonian Lynn Wilson.

The Stirling-based athlete was delighted with the result.She said: "My dad has run here many times before and he told me about the hill, as did my coach, Derek Easton, but it was a lot tougher than either of them made out."

Aberdeen AAC's Nicola Gauld, the 2013 winner, was runner-up in 36:45, while Sarah Liebnitz (Inverness Harriers) repeated her 2013 result by taking third position in 38:31.

The over-40's award went to Ashley Pearson (Fleet Feet Triathletes in 42:56 and Sylvia Cranston (Montrose Triathlon Club) won the over-50's in 44:50.

Scottish 10,000m track champion Will Mackay made up for the disappointment of missing the London marathon by winning the men's 10km.

The Aberdeen AAC runner had planned to compete in the capital but an achilles injury hampered his training so he turned to the Balmoral race instead.

His decision paid off with a clearcut victory in 32:28, finishing 48secs ahead of John Newsom (Inverness Harriers) with Andrew Brown third in 35:45.

Mackay was satisfied with his performance, saying: "I was pleasantly surprised as my training hasn't really been going too well. It has been a bit on and off, so hopefully this will be a turning point. It's the first race for a while that I've felt reasonably good."

Alan Reid (Peterhead AAC) won the special prize as first kilted runner for the seventh time in 12 years when finishing ninth overall in 37:54. He was also first in the over-50 age group.

Mark Norris (Dundee Road Runners) picked up the over-40's award when taking 10th spot in 37:55.


Kenny Wilson, right, knocked 10secs off his previous best time when recording 15:14 to finish ahead of a field of 633 runners in the ConocoPhillips 5km.

The Moray Road Runners club member, who is the reigning Scottish North District 10km champion, broke away from his closest challengers after the opening 1.5km and went on to win by 10secs from middle distance specialist Stephen Mackay (Inverness Harriers).

Run Garioch 5km champion Callum Symmons (Aberdeen AAC), who was second last year, was a further 13secs behind in third position

Wilsonsaid:"I am really pleased to win and to run such a fast time.It was a good race and there was a group of us for the first kilometre but I broke away on the uphill section soon afterwards and managed to get a bit of a gap.

It's a good course and I'd really like to return next year to defend my title."

Steve Buchan (Metro Aberdeen) set a personal best time of 17:15 to win the over-40's title when placing 11th overall while Athol Burnett (Aberdeen AAC) was first over-50 in 18:52

Jenny Bannerman (Inverness Harriers), left, celebrated her call-up to the Scotland international side for a half marathon in Denmark by winning the women's prize in 17:03, a time which matches her personal best set at last year's Scottish championships.

The Inverness Harriers member said:"I'm very pleased because it's 32secs quicker than I did when I last competed here two years ago.I think I'm stronger and fitter than I was then and I also know the course better.

Gemma Cormack (Aberdeen AAC), who won last year, finished second in 17:43, while Naomi Lang (Aberdeen AAC) was third in 17:50.

Jacoline Mcdiarmid (Three Peaks Triathletes) lifted the over-40's award in 22:10 and Elaine Tierney led the way in the over-50's in 25:05.


Aberdeen AAC's Rebecca Eggeling, right, smashed the girls' course record in the Kongsberg Maritime 2.5km race.The Robert Gordon College pupil, who also won last year, recorded 7:52 to scythe 11secs off the previous standard set by her clubmate and friend Naomi Lang in 2014.

Lauren Liversidge (Banchory Stonehaven AC) was runner-up in 8:49 and Laura McNeill took third in 8:55, one sec ahead of Elizabeth McCall (Abereen AAC).

Harry Hall fulfilled one of his big ambitions by winning the boys' race in 7:26.The 14 year-old Aberdeen Grammar pupil sprinted clear of his Aberdeen AAC's clubmates Jack Gillespie and Nic Tierney to win in 7:26.

Gillespie took second spot in 7:34 with Tierney recording 7:37 to take third for the second year in a row.

Metro Aberdeen's Scott Coull, from Westhill, won the MPH primary schools 1.5km boys' race when recording 5:45 to finish four secs ahead of VP Glasgow AC's Russell Barnett while Tom Findlay finished third in 5:57.

Anya Morrison (East Sutherland AC) overhauled early leader Valencia Wright (VP Glasgow) to win the girls' 1.5km by 11secs in 6:04 while Isabella Thomson (Banchory Stonehaven AC) held off Megan Taylor by one sec to take third spot in 6:20.

Banchory Academy won the Aberdeenshire Active schools trophy in the secondary schools team competition and Banchory primary won the large primary schools award and Finzean took the title for small schools.


Teenager Anisha Badial (Aberdeen AAC) set a course record of 20min 48secs when winning the Jogscotland Challenge three mile Wee Trail race on a day when bright sunshine, largely blue skies and calm conditions greeted competitors.

The Scottish under-17 trail running champion was delighted but admitted it was a tough run.
She said:"I really enjoyed it but the hills were tough. I'm happy to win and now I'm going to concentrate on the Scottish hill running series."Nicolle Beattie was second in 22:50 and third-placed Simon Smith was first man in 23:26, 20secs ahead of Stephen Bond.

Dan Whitehead's strength on the bike earned the Ballater man a clear victory in the Apollo duathlon which was being held for the second time.

The Deeside Runners club member trailed Aberdeen AAC's Callum Symmons by 30secs at the end of the opening 6km run but soon closed the gap before opening a big lead on the 16km mountain biking stage.

Whitehead was able to maintain his advantage on the final 5km run to finish in a combined time of 1hr 22min 32secs.

Lewis Champion produced a powerful finish to overhaul the 2015 winner, Ian Russell, to take second position by seven secs in 1:23:30 while Symmons dropped out.

Aberdeen's Kerry Prise led from the start to take the women's prize in 1:33:08.Title-holder Laura Wood,also from Aberdeen,came through strongly on the cycling stage to take second position in 1:36:50 while Lumphanan's Laura Murray finished third in 1:42:17.

Michael O'Donnell (Inverness Harriers), seen leading here, No. 201, won the Glacier Energy 15 mile trail race when recording 1:29:56. The former Aberdeen-based runner broke clear of his challengers after five miles and finished well ahead of Brian Bonnyman (Westerlands) who clocked 1:32:14 while Roger Clark was third in 1:32:57. Aberdeen doctor Moira Davie (Forres Harriers) collected the women's prize for the second year in a row, recording 1:38:15.Veronique Oldham (Cosmic Hillbashers), the 2014 champion, was second in 1:42:37 and Anne Hartmann finished third in 1:45:04.

More Archive News Items

Enter Now